Just some of the secrets of the Château from the day it was built to today… !
The history of Raray dates back to the 13th century with the Bouteiller Family who were the first owners of the domain. Robert de Cressonsart, Bishop of Senlis, Arnould d’Audename, les Ghistelles and the Lisgny succeeded respectively until the 16th century.
In 1600, Jehan de Belloy sold the domain to Nicolas de Lancy who was at the time advisor to the King, Chief Accountant for the King’s army and Chamberlain to the Duke of Orléans all at the same time. He was also responsable for the choice of architectural design of the Château and the Game Walls.
The Château was then passed on to the Marquis of Barres in 1760 who chose the famous English landscape gardner, Thomas Blaikie, who changed the style creating the effects of an English garden and has remained unchanged up to this day.
After the Second World War, it was on the large screen that we discovered the Château de Raray but this time quite unique with the filming of the ‘Beauty & the Beast’ in 1946 where he chose the famous Game Walls and Diane’s Gate to illustrate the story of the enchantment and desires that have become timeless icons of this cinematic wonder.